My story  

 

Coming from a fashion design course, I have always had a taste for harmonious associations of very diverse materials. Very early on, I developed my attraction for different cultures, a passion that I nurture during many trips around the world. This is how I learned to reveal the beauty of things, from all origins, giving my creations a character that is both unique and authentic.

 

After several years abroad, it is today in France that I put my creativity to work to design new universes, as an interior decorator and designer of fashion accessories.

Through these collections, I want to promote craftsmanship and pay tribute to manual work.

Find my work on www.stephanielanskin.com

Moroccan craftsmanship: the sfifa

 

The sfifa is a weaving of Jewish origin, taken up and developed in the 1920s by the Moroccans. It therefore becomes an essential element of their traditional outfits, such as the caftan for women or the salham for men.

It is made of silk or scali thread, otherwise known as gold thread.

Today, this art continues to exist thanks to a few craftsmen whose know-how has been passed down from generation to generation. In the era of new technologies, the youngest generations are gradually moving away from traditions and abandoning learning the trades of patience and thoroughness.

The artisan I have chosen is among the best in Morocco. He lives in the city of Fez and works alone at home, in peace and in love for his job. Using his loom, created by him, it takes him a whole day to make 8 meters of braid.

Photographer: Adrien Lanskin

Model: Ophélie Dos Santos

All rights reserved

Stephanie Lanskin 2020

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Mon histoire 

 

Issue d’un cursus de design de mode, j’ai toujours eu le goût pour les associations harmonieuses de matériaux très divers. Très tôt, j’ai développé mon attrait pour les différentes cultures, passion que je nourris lors de nombreux voyages à travers le monde. C'est ainsi que j’ai appris à révéler la beauté des choses, de toutes origines, donnant à mes créations un caractère à la fois unique et authentique.

 

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, c’est aujourd’hui en France que je mets en oeuvre ma créativité pour concevoir de nouveaux univers, en tant que décoratrice d’intérieur et designer d'accessoires de mode.. 

A travers ces collections, je souhaite valoriser l'artisanat et rendre hommage au travail manuel.

Retrouvez mon travail sur www.stephanielanskin.com

L'artisanat marocain: le sfifa

 

Le sfifa est un tissage d’origine juive, repris et développé dans les années 1920 par les marocains. Il devient dès lors un élément indispensable de leurs tenues traditionnelles, telles que le caftan pour les femmes ou le salham pour les hommes.

Il se compose de fil de soie ou de scali, autrement appelé fil d’or.

Aujourd’hui, cet art continue d’exister grâce à quelques artisans dont le savoir-faire s’est transmis de génération en génération. A l’ère des nouvelles technologies, les plus jeunes générations s’éloignent progressivement des traditions et délaissent l’apprentissage des métiers de patience et de minutie.

L’artisan que j’ai choisi compte parmi les meilleurs du Maroc. Il vit dans la ville de Fès et travaille seul chez lui, dans le calme et l’amour de son métier. A l’aide de son métier à tisser, créé par ses soins, il lui faut une journée entière pour fabriquer 8 mètres de galon.

Photographe: Adrien Lanskin

Modèle: Ophélie Dos Santos

Tous droits réservés

Stéphanie Lanskin 2020

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon